Ways That HR Uses Social Media to Discover the Real You

Now that I have finally found a job in HR, I am on the other side of the job search process, yet I will never forget how daunting and discouraging looking for a new job can be.  You have heard the phrase, third-times-a-charm, well for me it was the 61st time, as that it how many jobs I applied for before receiving a job offer.  Even with over 30 years of management experience and two bachelor degrees from SNHU, I wasn’t even getting called in for an interview.  I often thought” if I could just get one foot through the door, I could convince them that I was the right person for the job.”

Out of the 60+ jobs that I applied for, I got one video interview, which was a disaster and I didn’t get a call back (no surprise there).  I made the mistake of trying to make eye-contact with the one-inch picture of the interviewer.  Not good!  I then had a first and a second face-to-face interview with a manufacturing firm, yet they eventually went with someone who had manufacturing experience (mine was all retail).  After a full year of job searching, with help from a job coach, and working with SNHU Career Services, I was finally offered an HR Administrator position for a company that had never had an HR department.  This meant that I had the task of setting up the office (fun), yet I also had to spoon feed them many aspects of HR that they had never done, and were somewhat reluctant to do, such as sexual harassment training, performance appraisals, etc.  Now that I am on the other side I have a few tidbits to share about the job search process.

LinkedIn

In my first post, I shared the importance of setting up a LinkedIn account, as this is a site that HR professionals look at when reviewing the abundance of applications that they receive.  LinkedIn is one social media site that HR expects to be mostly professional, rather than social in the way that Facebook is.  LinkedIn can be used to see if the information on your submitted resume matches your LinkedIn profile.  Keeping it real, I must tell you that LinkedIn is not the place to post a profile picture that includes you and your spouse/partner, or you and your mom (yes, I’ve seen this), or your dog (I love my dog too).  This profile really should be as professional as possible without being too stiff.

Facebook

Is this what you want a potential employer to see?

As an HR professional, if I want to get a sense of who a person is and if I think that they will fit in with our company’s culture, making sure there are no red flags, I will check out their Facebook page.  Regardless of what you normally post, I think that it is in your best interest to set your privacy controls to friends only on Facebook, as your friends may be the ones who lead us to think you may not fit in well.  I mean, didn’t your parents always think your friends were a bad influence?  Now a potential employer may make the same rash (or correct) judgment based on what is posted on your FB page.

 

Applicant Tracking Systems (ATS)

Due to the incredible volume of applications an employer now receives, they have had to find a way to sort through them so that only the ones that meet most of the criteria make it through to their desk.  Applicant Tracking Systems (ATS) were designed to recognize keywords in a resume that match up with keywords mentioned in the job posting.  Regardless of how qualified you may be, you will not get a call for an interview, believe me I know, if your resume doesn’t make it through the ATS.  Using a program such as JobScan can help you to write a better resume, include the right keywords, and get your resume pulled from the pile and placed in front of the right people.  The terrific people at SNHU Career Services (@SNHUCareer) introduced me to this idea and it finally got my phone to ring and a job offer.  Best of all, you can get several “scans” for free each month.

Keep in mind that a recruiter, or HR professional, knows that you are presenting yourself in the very best way that you can during an interview so they will use social media to get a glimpse at the real you.  Make sure the “real you” is someone that they can see as part of their organization.  From an HR – social media standpoint, it is important that we keep our minds open and not discriminate against individuals.  We need to continue to embrace diversity within our workforce.

Share your Best Practices for using social media to find a job?

More useful articles to read for those seeking to get or fill a position.

To Land a Job Know How Employers Use Technology to Hire

Seven Tips for a Better Resume

Five Ways Social Media Has Changed HR

 

 

19 thoughts on “Ways That HR Uses Social Media to Discover the Real You

Add yours

  1. Great post! My undergrad degree is also in HR and it was nearly impossible to find a job after graduation. I ended up getting s promotion at the company I was at and his working my way up the ladder there, but they were so small they didn’t have an HR department. The great thing about SNHUcareer is that it’s a lifetime benefit to students. My department recently had a meeting with the head of SNHUcareer and he told us that 92% of students who work with them are able to find employment in their field within six months of graduation. Their goal is to get that number to 95% by June! I think that’s some amazing numbers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the feedback Ashley. I also found @SNHUCareer to be very helpful and very proactive. They seemed invested in my being able to find a good job. I have seen other schools say that they help you find a job, but they really do not follow-through.

      Like

  2. Wonderful blog Brenda. I felt like you took the word out of my mouth and expressed it in words. I have been searching for a job so almost a year that truly fits my passion but I’m still on the retail side of banking and I know I can do much better job if I were on the other side of the table. I understand what you went through and I think I will take your suggestion and try out SNHU career service in addition to resume scan services you mentioned. I love your post. You’re so good!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! So much great information from an insider prospective for those (like me) searching for a job right now. It’s also nice to hear an Snhucareer success story! I’m currently working with them and getting great advice!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great information, however, I think that I have finally found a place with room for me to grow as a person, but I can share this helpful information with any friends or family who are job searching. Thanks for all the info!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So many great points here! It’s so important to keep these things in mind whenever you’re posting something to social media. It’s one of the many reasons why I choose to carry myself professionally on all forms of social media, including my personal profiles. Companies can and do check you out on social media during the hiring process and the last thing you want is for an employer to find a photo of you doing a keg stand back in college.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Brent,
    What a wonderful post! I know the struggle behind trying to find a job that you’re passionate about. I know I have been there bunch of times but I hit a wall every time. I know it is not easy. A few of my friends told me about how recruiters and HR professionals look for keywords in your resume and hearing it from you has assured me on how important keyword plays during job search. You made some solid points regarding that.You made a lot of great points. Looking forward to reading your next blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I knew I didn’t make a mistake when I made that comment about you being a reservoir of knowledge. This post was quite informative. I didn’t know how beneficial the SNHU career services can be for students until I read your blog post. You also mentioned that these services are for a lifetime; I’ll be sure to keep that in mind when (and if) I decide to make a change in my career path.

    I have always been a social media police to my younger ones, reminding them that anyone can see anything once it’s posted on the web. I knew that some employers base their decision on a candidate’s social media page, but I had no idea that the candidate’s group of friends can also influence the employer’s decision. This is quite good to know. Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope you find fulfillment in your new role.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Brenda,
    What a great post, I know you can’t hear that enough. Aside from the videos and great pics the information was great and I liked your delivery styl, personal but factual. I must go update my Linkedin profile, I’ll be graduating soon and believe it or not I’m going to go back out their or go back in business for my self. I look like hell but I still have the energy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Tech Lessons

Let's figure it out

With the Current

Stay relevant in the fast-paced world of social media

Double S Pets

Passionate for Puppies!

Jessica Rogers, PhD.

University Educator, Marketing Practioner; Social Media Marketing Researcher

The Social World As I See It

A Map for the Pathway of Higher Education

Outta My Comfort Zone

Blogging attempt by middle-aged grad student (I plan on living until I'm 110)

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tech Lessons

Let's figure it out

With the Current

Stay relevant in the fast-paced world of social media

Double S Pets

Passionate for Puppies!

Jessica Rogers, PhD.

University Educator, Marketing Practioner; Social Media Marketing Researcher

The Social World As I See It

A Map for the Pathway of Higher Education

Outta My Comfort Zone

Blogging attempt by middle-aged grad student (I plan on living until I'm 110)

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

